Hunger Games Readalikes for Middle Grade Readers

Since the success of the Hunger Games, dystopian novels have surged in popularity.  What does “dystopian” mean?  Dystopian genrally refers to a society that is declining–the opposite of a utopian; […]

Ducks in Socks: Storytimes for all ages

Stories we shared Flannelboard story The flannel board story was based on the book Buzz Said the Bee.  It is a story in rhyme with repetitive phrases, animal sounds, and […]

Summer Vacation Storytimes

It’s a full week of Summer Vacation storytimes!  We have stories about going to beach, taking a trip, vacationing, packing, summer sounds, and keeping cool. Stories we shared Maisy Goes […]

Pajama Storytime: Reading is So Delicious

What better way to kick off summer than with food? With just a few days into the start of Summer Reading Club, our theme “Reading is So Delicious” continues to […]

Since it was the first day of Summer Reading Club, and the theme for 2013 is Reading is Soooo Delicious, we had to share some food stories today.  We had […]

Infant & Toddler Storytime: Let's Eat!

Since “Reading is Sooooo Delicious” this summer, we finished off our spring session of infant toddler storytimes with yummy stories about food.  To access any of the titles in our […]

Square Cat: Stories About Self Acceptance

Stories we shared The theme of this week’s Pajama Storytime is “Self Acceptance.”  Each story draws on themes of courage, friendship, and encouragement for self acceptance. The Monster Who Lost […]

Fun Activities for a Delicious Summer!

       In keeping with this year’s Summer Reading Club theme, Reading is So Delicious, I thought I’d suggest some wonderful cookbooks for kids. Cooking simple meals with your child offers opportunities […]

Today we had a wonderful time at our infant and toddler storytimes with books about construction. Stories We Shared           Film We Watched Changes Changes based […]

Today we had a jumping good time sharing bouncing stories at the Central Library’s infant and toddler storytimes!  Look below to see all the fun books we read together.  If […]