Book lists

Book recommendations

Spooky Stories: Picture Books

Picture Books Creepy Carrots by Aaron Reynolds The carrots that grow in Crackenhopper Field are the fattest and crispiest around, and Jasper Rabbit cannot resist pulling some to eat each […]

Grow and Transform -- Preschool Storytime

This story time was all about growing and transforming, an idea forming from a small seed. Stories Kings of the Castle by Victoria Turnbull: George wants to build a sand castle that […]

Feliz Dia Del Libro!

In the Spanish-speaking world, today is International Book Day, in honor of William Shakespeare, Miguel de Cervantes, and Garcilaso de la Vega, all of whom died on or around the […]

Are you taking a trip to a far off and distant land with your family this summer?  Or even a quick flight to visit family members?  Will it be your […]

Hunger Games Readalikes for Middle Grade Readers

Since the success of the Hunger Games, dystopian novels have surged in popularity.  What does “dystopian” mean?  Dystopian genrally refers to a society that is declining–the opposite of a utopian; […]

J Books with Jennifer

New finds and old favorites for children ages 7-10 (and older!). Recommendations by Children’s Librarian Jennifer D.